9 of Swords

IMG_1168 (Edited)
Everyday Witch/Robin Wood

Well isn’t this a pleasant card to draw for my second post! How do you write about the 9 of Swords without descending into a pit of doom and gloom? It is a card that appears to have nothing positive to say, and it was one of those cards that most people hope will never turn up in their readings.

The funny thing is, when it does show up in a reading you are never really that surprised to see it. Let’s face it, if you are feeling what this card is showing then you already know that’s where you are. This is not, in my opinion, a card that is talking about hidden emotions. Those emotions are out there for all to see. They are all-consuming; you cannot hide them and you cannot hide from them. You are feeling them with every fibre of your being and you are just going to have to ride them out.

But maybe it is not all bad… yes, the woman on the bed is clearly upset and worried, the bed looks basically still made suggesting a restless night with no sleep, and the floor is littered with books which speaks of an obsession over something. Looking out the window though, you can see the sun is rising, the night is over and dawn is approaching. And as the saying goes, it is always darkest just before the dawn. The card doesn’t ignore the pain and anguish you are experiencing, but it is trying to tell you that it is almost done. The worst of it will soon be over and you will be able to “face the new day” and start afresh.

So, you see, it really isn’t a completely “bad” card, but I still would prefer it if it didn’t show up in any of my readings!

On a geeky side-note, when I first drew the card I was all “yay, this is going to be so easy to link to horror in some way!” Linking it to actual films was not as easy as I expected it to be though (except for A Nightmare on Elm Street, but that’s a pretty obvious one!) What this card does represent, at least for me, is the horror genre as a whole, or, more specifically, the affect a good horror film has on the viewer. If I was going to sum up what I want from horror films in one card this would definitely be the card I would pick.

GeekGirl Heather

xoxo

2 thoughts on “9 of Swords

  1. Great write up! I was stalked by this card last year when I was going through a hard time. A thing which helped me during readings was to remember that the swords represent a perceived danger or worry. In the image, the swords aren’t physically harming you (unlike the 10 of swords). It is very much focused on mental anguish or imagined problems. Once I realized that a majority of my worries were unfounded, things got a lot easier. I hope that makes sense, haha

    Like

    1. Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it.

      You are making perfect sense, and I think you are exactly right. I think sometimes this card reminds us that actually things aren’t nearly as bad as we imagine them to be and that most of our pain is of our own making due to our obsessing about the issue.

      Like

Leave a Reply

